mishory_logo
mishory_news









  konzerte - concerts

 

 

Gilead Mishory was born in 1960 in Jerusalem and studied at the Rubin Academy. On the recommendation of Alfred Brendel he completed his studies with Gerhard Oppitz in Munich and with Hans Leygraf in Salzburg at the “Mozarteum”.


He performs solo, with orchestras and with renowned chamber music partners in Europe, the United States, Japan, Korea and Israel. His extremely wide ranging repertoire includes all musical styles with a special emphasis on the music of the 20th and 21st centuries.
Gilead Mishory is the first pianist to have recorded the complete piano works and chamber music with piano by Leos Janácek. Other CDs with works by Haydn, Brahms, Bartók, his own compositions and numerous radio-recordings received instant critical acclaim. Enthusiastic reviews of the press describe him as a “magician of sound”, a “technically perfect poet of the piano” and a “pianist with a sense of sound, charm and esprit”.


Mishory's cycle “Lider-Togbuch” after poems by Sutzkever, premièred in 1998, was his breakthrough as a composer. His affinity to literature as a source of inspiration is shown also in his “Hebrew Ballads”, with poems by Else Lasker-Schüler, “Fugitive Pieces” for piano, after the novel by Anne Michaels, the string quartet “Psalm” after Paul Celan, or ”Di Vayte Haymat Mayne”, for tenor and orchestra, after poems by Marc Chagall. His first opera, “Isaac’s Youth”, was completed in 2010. The new CD with Mishory’s own works came out in 2011 by NEOS.


Since 2000 Gilead Mishory is senior professor at the renowned University of Music in Freiburg and is regularly invited to give masterclasses all over the world.

 

In 2014 Mishory’s quintet “Sham Yesh” was first performed in Israel, and his piano piece “for Aeneas”, commissioned as an obligatory piece at the “European Piano Contest Bremen” was published by “Peer-Music”. The German Chamber Choir commissioned, and recorded his “Water-Psalms” on CD. His new CD with the complete Préludes by Debussy appeared by NEOS and received numerous excellent reviews.

 

On his schedule for 2015 are concerts and masterclasses in Korea, Japan, the US, Europe and Israel.

 

You are welcome to download a more comprehensive biography as PDF-file here. In addition you can use following portraits:

 

pressefoto_01

 

Photo 01 (3648*2736 px)

Download

 

pressefoto_01

 

Photo 02 (2736*3648 px)

Download

 

pressefoto_01

 

Photo 03 (2736*3648 px)

Download






Top   |   Home

mishory_logo
mishory_news









  konzerte - concerts

 

 

Gilead Mishory wurde 1960 in Jerusalem geboren und studierte dort an der Rubin-Akademie. Auf Empfehlung von Alfred Brendel vollendete er seine Studien bei Gerhard Oppitz in München und bei Hans Leygraf am Salzburger Mozarteum.

 

Mit angesehenen Orchestern, renommierten Kammermusikpartnern und ideenreichen Soloprogrammen führt er weltweit Werke aller Stilepochen auf. Dabei legt er einen besonderen Akzent auf die Musik des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts.


Als Erster spielte er das gesamte Klavierwerk und die Kammermusik mit Klavier von Leoš Janáček ein. Weitere CDs mit Werken von Haydn, Brahms, Schubert, Bartók und mit eigenen Kompositionen sowie zahlreiche Radio-Aufnahmen fanden gleichermaßen hohe Anerkennung. Die begeisterte Kritik bezeichnete ihn als „Klangzauberer“, als „technisch perfekten Poeten des Klaviers“ und als „Pianisten mit Klangsinn, Charme und Esprit“.


Mit dem 1998 uraufgeführten Zyklus „Lider-Togbuch“ nach Gedichten von Sutzkever schaffte er den Durchbruch als Komponist. Seine Affinität zu Literatur als Quelle der Inspiration zeigt sich auch bei den „Hebräischen Balladen“ nach Else Lasker-Schüler, bei „Fluchtstücke“ nach dem Roman von Anne Michaels, im „Psalm“-Streichquartett nach Paul Celan, oder „Di wajte hajmat majne“, für Tenor und Orchester, nach Gedichten von Marc Chagall. Seine Erste Oper, „Isaaks Jugend“, beendete er 2010. 2011 Erschien die neue CD mit seinen Werken bei NEOS.


Im Jahr 2000, nach zweijähriger Professur an der Hochschule Detmold-Dortmund, wurde Gilead Mishory an die Musikhochschule in Freiburg berufen, als Nachfolger von Seemann, Levin und Béroff. Er wird regelmäßig eingeladen, in der ganzen Welt Meisterkurse zu leiten.


In der Saison 2014 wurde Mishorys Quintett “Sham Yesh” uraufgeführt, sowie sein neues Klavierwerk “An Aeneas”, Auftrag des Europäischen Klavierwettbewerbs Bremen, das bei “Peermusic” Verlegt wird. Der Deutsche Kammerchor hat das neue, von ihm bestellte Werk „Wasserpsalm“ auf CD aufgenommen. Seine neue Einspielung aller Préludes von Debussy, bei NEOS erschienen, hat begeisterte Reaktionen der Kritik erhalten. „Klassikinfo“ sprach von einer „Referenz-Aufnahme“.


Für das Jahr 2015 sind Konzerte und Masterclasses in Korea, Japan, den USA, Europa und Israel vorgesehen.

 

Einen ausführlicheren Lebenslauf können Sie hier im PDF-Format herunterladen. Weiterhin stehen Ihnen folgende Portraitfotos zur Verfügung:

 

pressefoto_01

 

Foto 01 (3648*2736 px)

Download

 

pressefoto_01

 

Foto 02 (2736*3648 px)

Download

 

pressefoto_01

 

Foto 03 (2736*3648 px)

Download






Top   |   Home